Jake

I don’t usually post particularly personal things, but I’m breaking with tradition.

So, we lost Jake this week. He’s been part of our family for 20 years.

When I was about ten, we started hunting for a horse for me. We looked for a long time–a couple of years, in fact.

Then my riding instructor came up to us one day and said, “I found your horse.” She was right.

He was exactly the right horse for me.

He was sweet, funny, and sometimes difficult. I loved him.

Here he is, inspecting me (I was enormously pregnant at the time).

And inspecting Mary. For whatever reason, Jake loved Mary.

Anyway, I wanted to post something here because he was important to me. And because I wanted to thank my parents publicly for taking such good care of him for such a long time. He had a long, happy life, and he was loved.

We’re all going to miss him a lot.

 

Leave a Reply

