first day of school!

Today was the kids’ first day of school. They had a great time and both of them loved their teachers. (Hurray!)

They had to get up early, of course; Wesley didn’t have much trouble with that. Mary, on the other hand, had to be pried out of bed. As usual.

Here’s Wesley, ready to go:

And here’s Mary in her new first-grade uniform:

Wesley got ready and everything, but he didn’t sleep well last night; he was too excited about school. So by the time we got to the parking lot, he was…well, he didn’t know what hit him.

Mary held Wesley’s hand and led him to his classroom. She said, “Don’t worry, I’ll take very good care of him.” (What a good sister.)

On another note, I just realized that this week is my ten-year teaching anniversary. Ten years ago this week, I started teaching my first class. I cannot believe it’s been that long, but it also seems like I’ve been a teacher forever, so I guess it shouldn’t be surprising.

Definitely one of the three or four best decisions I ever made.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Greatgrandma on August 30, 2012 at 1:44 am

    Mary & Wesley you look so ready for school. Your uniforms are very nice. Hope your day was great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

