fruits and vegetables

Conor and I were reading that kids Wesley’s age should eat at least 4 half-cup servings of fruits and vegetables per day. Mary should eat six servings. I should eat eight. EIGHT!

Anyway, I’ve always thought that we were fairly healthful eaters most of the time. In particular, I try not to feed my kids junk. But I made a chart for each kid (and one for me) and we’re keeping track of the fruits and vegetables.

After about four days of this, I have reached a conclusion: that is a fuck of a lot of fruits and vegetables.

Seriously, it’s crazy. I had no idea how short we were falling. Partly because Wesley is a carbohydrate fiend, and I always focused on getting him to eat SOMETHING else (protein or whatever), I didn’t realize how few fruits and vegetables he was eating. And I hadn’t realized that I was getting so few, either, especially on teaching days when I’m not at home for a leisurely breakfast and lunch.  Mary eats a fair number of vegetables and fruits, but she just doesn’t EAT that much. If she gets six servings of fruits and vegetables, that’s a huge percentage of what she eats in a day…which, I suppose, is the idea.

They’ve accepted the challenge, though, and they’re doing very well with it. Wesley is a bit limited on what vegetables he likes, but he’s tried a few new things and I think he’s going to branch out if we stick with it. Mary likes coloring in her chart with the colors of the foods she’s eaten.

But still. That’s a LOT of fruits and vegetables.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by grandma cal on May 2, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    I think charting it is a great idea. I think I will steal the idea and do it myself. Veggies and fruits are very important. Good job McHale’s. Tell Mary and Wesley to give me an update after another week or so.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anonymous on May 3, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Fruit and Vegetable smoothies taste really good and you can hide spinach in them.
    I use different types of milks to change things up…i.e. almond milk, coconut milk, etc.
    You can make a green monster drink for Wesley using 1/2 an avocado and fruit. The different fruit change up the colors…blackberries, strawberries. I also use plain or vanilla yoguart to keep them smooth. For sweetner I add some jelly or jam.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

