reflections on being a mom

Mary has been trying my patience today…well, perhaps “riding the hell out of my very last nerve” would be a more accurate description. So, when I want to whack the snot out of her, I have been thinking instead about these things:

1) I can be whatever kind of person I want to be. I don’t want to be the kind of person who yells, so I’m not giving her the option of “making me” yell. She can’t make me, even if she pushes my buttons on a daily basis. If I yell at her, it is MY fault, not hers.

2) She is overwhelmed by all of the things she’s learning. (Right now, she’s also completely insane from being inside since last Thursday except for 15 minutes.) She’s really not out to turn me into a raving lunatic. I don’t think.

3) I am glad that I am not a single parent, because if I had to do this 24/7 I would go absolutely batty. Thank God I have a partner who is great with the kids.

4) Both kids are good sleepers. (From about 11 p.m. to 9 a.m. I MOSTLY just get to forget that I’m in charge of two weirdos.) So when I’m about to lose it, I remember that I will get to put them to bed in a few hours and they will sleep and I will get to read/work/watch “Rumpole of the Bailey” with Conor.

5) They will be grown up in no time at all. I know this. I will miss this.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom on February 9, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    GOOD FOR YOU!!
    Love ya,
    MOM

    Reply

Leave a Reply

