I love these ages.

Three, and (almost) 19 months–these are great ages for kids. They’re cracking me up daily. Here are a couple of highlights from yesterday:

* The phone rang while I was changing Wesley’s diaper. Mary yelled, “Answer it, answer phone!” I said (well, snapped, perhaps), “I’ll answer it as soon as I can!” and Mary said, in this totally reasonable voice–as though speaking to a mental patient–“It’s okay, Mom. I’m not going to FORCE you.”

* Wesley, who is learning words and sentences by leaps and bounds, held up a book and said, “Book!” I agreed that it was a book and he grinned and said, “Happy book!” I said, “The book makes you happy?” and he said “Make BOOK happy!” and sat down to read it.

* Wesley has also just started agreeing to be under a blanket, ever. We sat down to watch a movie last night and he said “Blanket!” We tucked the blanket that we were using around him and he smiled very sweetly and snuggled up to it. Adorable.

* Mary drew a snail and a bunch of letters yesterday. Semi-recognizable ones. She’s been drawing balloons that actually look like balloons, too.

* Wesley gave me a hug yesterday, complete with a sweet little pat on the arm. I said, “Aww, thank you for the hug!” and he said, “I hug you!” I said, “That’s very nice, buddy. I love you!” and he said, “Lub oo!” Then he looked around, located Mary, trotted over to her, hugged her, and said, “Lub Mary!”

Can it get cuter than that?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Suzanne on January 22, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I remember someone else who used to draw snails…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

