Is it bedtime yet?

So, last night, Wesley woke up around 1 a.m. and didn’t go back to sleep until 6:15. That’s right, 6:15. I do not know why. I do not know if he’s going to do the same thing tonight. I do not know anything. Partly because my brain is fried from getting 1.5 hours of sleep.

I have to grade 23 papers tonight, minimum. Of course, this means that the kids’ Neediness Index is at an all-time high. In the past hour, the following things have happened:

* they have eaten four bananas between them and have fought over every one [although I keep pointing out there are plenty to go around];

* Mary has dumped a potty-full of urine on the floor [on purpose];

* I put Mary in time-out for this and she promptly announced, while I was cleaning up the pee, that she had pooped on the stairs;

* Wesley has pulled a book down on his own head, cried, and then tried to tear the pages out;

* Mary has insisted, weeping copiously until I complied, that I get a bowl for her to put blocks into, so that she can feed the blocks to her new imaginary dog, Ralph, who lives in the bathroom.

AAAAAAGGGGGHHHHH. That’s all I have to say about today.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom on November 5, 2009 at 2:34 am

    Ok, I am totally laughing out loud while feeling your pain.
    Love ya,
    MOM

    Reply

  2. Posted by Suzanne on November 5, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but your daughter might be the devil.

    Stories like this make me feel I might not survive a toddler. I think I could do birth-18 months and then they go to boarding school and return at age 5.

    I hope things have settled down now!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sandy on November 7, 2009 at 6:41 am

    LOL So glad I finally got to your blog this evening! This post is the funniest thing since I became a grandma. Seriously, laughing is the only way to cope! Believe me, I had my share of trying times and look how I turned out! ha! ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

