two and a half on Sunday

Mary keeps saying this. What does it mean?

Conor says, “One….two….” and she responds, “Two and a half on Sunday!”

I say, “Look, two birds!” and she nods sagely and says, “Two and a half on Sunday!”

?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Your perplexed husband on June 17, 2009 at 3:50 am

    Okay, here’s a clarification and my best guess. How this happened is that every night once Mary has been put to bed w/ a sippy cup of water, she invariably asks for at least one refill before she finally goes to sleep. Since she somehow defies physics and manages to pee more than she drinks, we try to hit a balance whereby she gets enough on her first refill that she won’t ask for more, but not so much that her diaper will leak. Very tricky. So my solution was to offer levels of water, at about 0.5″, 1″ and 1.5″; I remind her this is her LAST bottle, let her choose how much and at the same time make sure that the maximum offered isn’t really THAT much. To distinguish these levels for her, I call them 1, 2 & 3, respectively. Inevitably, she wants 3 [I originally had 4, too, but that–as you might imagine–only aggravated the leaking problem]. And I started trying to encourage moderation by suggesting “2 and a half” rather than 3. And she has always responded to this suggestion by saying, “2 and a half on Sunday!” And now the phrase is creeping into daytime life, too.

    I think it MIGHT be–and this is a stretch, I know–that the only previous time she’s noticed the phrase “2 and a half” was leading up to her half-birthday. For Mary, that is March 1, and my calendar assures me it was a Sunday this year. So, for one week her age was “2 and a half on Sunday.” I just can’t imagine we SAID this phrase enough in that one week for it to have stuck in her head to resurface two months later.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Suzanne on June 17, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    Kids’ ability to remember and repeat makes me very fearful for my future offspring and how they’ll be received in society when they say things like, “She’s such a skankbiscuit!” or “I hate you like poison!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

