Friday rant: why it is good that I am not a single parent

So, Conor’s been out of town for a couple of days. He gets home late tonight (well, early tomorrow morning). Not a moment too soon, I say.

It’s not that I don’t enjoy spending time with my kids. I do. (Lucky thing, as I spend M-F alone with them.)

However.

I rely on having a little backup.

You know, someone who can watch them while I’m taking the trash out to the curb, or put Mary to bed (that is generally Conor’s job and I neeeeed him to do it).

Someone who can go wet down a baby wipe when I take off a diaper and discover a horrifying state of affairs inside that I somehow didn’t notice until the diaper was off.

Someone who can hold Wesley when he begins to howl because I am cooking a nutritious, tasty, easy-to-chew meal for him and his sister–since he insists that if someone does not pick him up That Very Second he will wilt from loneliness.

Someone who can entertain Mary so that I can go to the bathroom in peace–MY GOD, IS THAT SO MUCH TO ASK!? Can’t you PLEASE find a toy to play with for the 20 seconds it takes me to pee instead of shoving all of our junk mail underneath the bathroom door and shouting, “Mommy go potty?” over and over and over and over while I’m trying to wash my hands, and stepping on Wesley in your attempt to get more junk mail so that he is whimpering pitifully and gearing up to let out the first big wail as soon as I open the door (which I am considering not doing until next Thursday)?

I need backup.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Sandy on May 23, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Oh, boy, does this bring back memories!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

