rave for Laurel’s Kitchen

So Conor picked up a copy of this book for me: click here

It is FANTASTIC. All about whole grain bread baking–nothing else–instead of just “you may substitute whole wheat flour for half of the flour” at the bottom of the recipe. I made the basic loaf over the weekend and it turned out pretty well–I think it would have been even better if I’d kneaded it longer so I’m going to try it again soon. Seriously, this book is great. The authors decided that substituting whole grain flour instead of just writing a recipe that’s designed for it is how most cookbooks arrive at bread recipes that are more or less indistinguishable from bricks. The loaf I made is up there with the best loaves of bread I’ve ever made–even the ones I made from white bread flour. I’m going to use her recipe to make a sourdough starter and I’ll keep you posted.

In other news, here are some recent-ish pictures that I have forgotten to post here–just some outdoorsy kid photos. I’ve taken more since these that haven’t been uploaded yet, so here’s a taste to whet your appetite:

From May 8 2009

Mary was in a “take my picture” kind of mood.

From May 8 2009

Excuse the drool.

From May 8 2009

Wesley is trying to decide if the neighbor’s yard is tempting enough to lure him off the Blanket of Safety.

From May 8 2009

Incidentally, I made everything Mary is wearing in these photos. Even the diaper. Is that insane?

From May 8 2009

Mary says, “I go sleep!” I am skeptical.

From May 8 2009

Sweet Mother of God, that is a cute baby.

From May 8 2009

As Mary said, “Wessy SO sleepy-tired!”

From May 8 2009
Leave a Reply

