any meal planners around here?

So I’m thinking that part of our new and improved “Healthy Eating Like Before I Got Pregnant Again” initiative, I should actually do some meal planning. (This is also spurred by the fact that food prices are out of hand around here.)

It’s weird. Who PLANS what to cook? Do any of you actually do this? You know, shop with a plan for what you’re cooking?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chris L on October 5, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    I do! But not solely, completely, or particularly well. For me, since I teach late two nights a week, it started with wanting to make more meals ahead and put them in the freezer. So I’ve not converted completely to once a month (or once a week!) shopping, but I’ve cut way back by planning a few large, freeze and save (some) meals. I’ve also become quite adept with the crock pot 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by liz on October 6, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    what i normally do is think about what i want to eat that day at work then go to the store and buy whatever i need that day and make it. i very rarely plan in advance more than a day or two. i definitely would not know how to do it for a week or for more than myself.

    Reply

  3. Posted by emilycleone on October 6, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    this is Suz’s friend Emily jumping in : ) i do this twice a month usually. i have a big folder of recipes and i go through and decided what i feel like eating. then i make my list with all the ingredients for each recipe. i don’t plan what days we’ll eat what, i just cook on a day to day basis. it works out really well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

