vent/food musings

So, I have been having contractions every three minutes…since last Thursday. (This is known as “prodromal labor”–which is to say, it’s very obnoxious but doesn’t actually produce a baby, although they are mild “real” contractions instead of Braxton-Hicks contractions.) Anyway, they’re not painful, particularly, but they are extremely uncomfortable, which means that it’s hard to get decent sleep, and I am very, very tired.

I’m trying to channel the resulting restlessness into getting ready for Wesley’s arrival but I have so little energy that I never seem to finish a task. I have been cooking some things to freeze so that I don’t have to cook right after Wesley’s born. Last night I made chili for supper and made a huge batch to freeze a couple of meals’ worth. I realized how spoiled we are–I had ground beef from my parents’ cows and tomatoes with peppers and onions that Mom canned for us last summer. (Add some black beans and there you go–chili.) Now I’m trying to figure out what else to cook that would be good post-baby food. Anyone with ideas, feel free to suggest them. I’m in nesting mode and I could use the inspiration.

This morning, Mary woke up around 7 (unusual for her) and refused to go back to sleep, so we’re downstairs and I’ve been feeding her a lot of things in the hope that she’s just hungry (I think she’s having another growth spurt–yikes) and will go back to sleep happily once she’s fed. So far she’s eaten half a cup of applesauce (spilling the other half everywhere), half a banana, half of a handful of crackers, and a cup of milk. I keep telling her there’s no law against finishing a food, but she seems to think it’s unladylike or something to finish an item.

Speaking of food, I am definitely making these today:
http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2008/06/crash-hot-potatoes/

Don’t know what else we’ll be having for dinner, but these will definitely be on the menu. Maybe some tomatoes will be ready–my tomato plants are totally out of hand. Tons of fruits, growing amazingly fast. I guess daily thunderstorms+lots of sun and heat the rest of the time=fast-growing tomatoes. I’ll try to remember to take some pictures and post them–Mary can totally hide behind these tomato plants with no problem at all, which is funny to me because usually my tomatoes produce a fair bit but look scraggly. Possibly they’re doing better because of the square foot bed? Either that, or tomato-growing mojo is another little-known side effect of pregnancy, along with changes in one’s vision.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by liz on June 23, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    one time there was a client at legal aid whose kid was named “braxton hicks.” i didn’t get the joke until some formerly pregnant coworkers explained it to me. actually i am not sure the client got the joke either.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Suzanne on June 25, 2008 at 3:27 am

    Do you know what I ate today? A crash potato. Seriously. You and Emily with your like thinking about cloth diapering and starches! Atleast she lives close enough for me to profit from her cooking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

