cultural observation

So, in my own department building, it is more likely for another woman to hold a door open for me than for a man to do so. (For the record, I hold doors for people often, regardless of their sex.)

In the mathematics and chemistry buildings where I’ve been teaching, most men–almost all–hold the door open for me. I wonder why? Maybe their culture in those departments is just more traditional?

Conor suggests that men in my department are afraid to hold doors open for women, lest they be brained with something heavy for being patriarchal anti-feminists. Possible.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Nina on May 6, 2008 at 2:39 am

    I must agree with my esteemed brother-in-law. Further, the men in math and chemistry are probably just excited to see a woman, given (admittedly improved yet still unbalanced) ratios of men to women in their fields. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

