that new classroom smell

Classes started today, so I met my students (of course it’s hard to tell what they will be like on the first day). Curiously, I discovered that the building I always thought was the Chemistry building was really the Engineering building all along. (That was inconvenient, since my classes are in the Chemistry building, but I found it eventually.) I always like the beginning of the semester. There’s no time to have fallen behind yet.

Last night Mary woke up in the middle of the night all sad because she was congested (we all have a minor cold). She cried and eventually I decided she wasn’t going to go back to sleep without some sort of attention, so I went in and tried her saline spray in her nose.

You know, in retrospect, I’m not sure why I thought that holding her down and spraying salt water up her nose would make her more sleepy.

She did feel better afterward, although she was furious–FURIOUS. I had to give her a bath to calm her down and then put her back to bed. Poor kid. Now she’s running around being crazy because she’s tired (it’s just about bedtime). At the moment she is running from the dining room to the living room and back, brandishing a brown crayon and yelling, “Go go go.” She’s been pretty funny this evening. Conor has been reading to her a lot from the book “Click, Clack, Moo.” She was reading her books this afternoon and just sitting and paging through them, whispering to herself, “mooo….moooo….”

Leave a Reply

