that’s more like the baby I know

Okay, so I just posted a while ago about how Mary was being a model baby and playing in a well-behaved, easily-cared-for way?

Well, I got up to put a load of dishes in the dishwasher. I left the laptop open, but asleep, on the couch in the living room. Mary was in the dining room playing with her blocks.

I opened the dishwasher. This sound announces to Mary, every time, that I am–however momentarily–in the kitchen and therefore Not Watching.

She bolted for the living room. I said, “Mary–what are you doing, honey?” I put away a few cups and then followed her to the living room.

She was standing in front of the couch. The laptop was awake. Indeed, it was busy: there were three new e-mail message windows, addressed to “MS WE,” “RTS,” and “JJJJJ.” A new Yahoo window was open, and she had searched the web for “DS CW.” The Clash was singing “London Calling.” And a TextEdit window containing–to all appearances–my credit card number was open.

Clearly, she is practicing for being a teenager.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on October 30, 2007 at 2:36 am

    In fairness, the TextEdit file was mine. As was the email to MS WE; it’s just been so long since we’ve heard from Ms. We that I thought we should write and see how she’s doing. I was NOT, however, searching for “ds cw” and I hope you don’t think I was or that my interest in “ds cw” warrants a phone conversation like the one we had to hear on the train from NY. It was just once, because I was curious. I mean, if I had done it, which I didn’t because that one was your daughter’s fault.

    Reply

  2. Posted by liz on October 31, 2007 at 3:47 am

    hahaha… marc’s brother used their parents’ credit card to buy a $1000 camcorder (is that the right word? i feel like i am very out of touch using that word). he thought they “wouldn’t notice.” at least he wasn’t buying crack.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

