catch-up post

So, I have been a pretty minimalist blogger for a while because this semester is kicking my butt. I am not even joking when I say that I am already counting weeks until the end. I’m enjoying the stuff I’m doing; there’s just too much of it. Teaching two classes at Maryland and two at Georgetown is too much and leaves no time for my own work, but then I have to do that work anyway so I basically have no free time that I don’t have to feel guilty about. I need a dissertation draft by 10/19, and I started a complete page one rewrite this week. That’s something ridiculous like 10 pages a day I need! So I do not have a lot of time for blogging even though I miss it.

Mike and Sandy are visiting us right now. Today we went to a yarn shop in Hyattsville and they bought me a fabulous birthday present:

2 skeins of the yarn on the left, in colorway 778 (which is so much way more beautiful in real life):
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

and a skein of Lush angora, in color 4427 (Blackberry Wine)–and if you could feel this yarn in real life you would know why it makes me sort of weak in the knees to touch it. It’s incredible soft and springy and fabulous:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
and a pair of these:
http://www.paradisefibers.net/Addi-Turbo-Knitting-Needles-p/836.htm

With these items I shall make this–for me!:
http://www.nakedsheep.com/spscfrwapo.html

In the meantime I am trying to finish Mary’s Halloween sweater. I have done most of it but the fiddly bits are all at the end and I’ve never made a sweater–or, for that matter, any other complicated garment–and so there’s a learning curve on it. But I think it will be done soon and she will be the world’s cutest tiger.

Also today we went to the pumpkin patch. Mary got a pumpkin:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

and was confused by most of the outing:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

So, all in all, a busy and nice day.

Leave a Reply

