So, Mary had a birthday! It was exciting. To warm up for the festivities, we visited Luke and Elaine last weekend. I include this photo because I love it–it cracks me up the way M is planning to wreak havoc and just about says so out loud:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

My parents (a.k.a. Grandpa Mike the Northerly, and Grandma Cal) were visiting. They arrived on Saturday. We had to scramble about preparing for the party. It’s a little embarrassing to admit how much time Conor and I spent cleaning the house and getting things organized, both before and after my parents arrived–so I won’t. But it was a lot. When my parents arrived, we went outside and played in the grass for a while. Mary wore my dad’s hat for about a tenth of a second:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Then she came over to tell me all about how this weird guy who looked sort of familiar had put his hat on her head. Doesn’t she look a little bit worried?

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

She got used to them, though, especially when they gave her this–it is her birthday present and she is passionately in love with it. It makes a number of noises. I have mixed feelings about it. I think it is adorable but I am considering removing the batteries, now that Grandma and Grandpa have left the state. Its noises include sayings like, “We’re big and strong!” and “Let’s do some work!”, as well as a little John Deere song, which has been running frantically in my head like a hyperactive squirrel in a wheel for almost a week. Aaaagh. She really loves it, though.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

These two pictures crack me up. I think Conor made this face this morning. How much could she possibly look like him?
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

This is Mary’s favorite birthday-party loot: she asked for, and received, a cardboard box. Sheila and John brought it specially for her. Ribbon included! (They also brought her a DVD, which I will watch and Mary will dance along to at irregular intervals.)
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I made a lot of food. Some of our guests are vegans, and there are some wheat and dairy issues, so I was worried that they wouldn’t be able to find enough to eat. In order to head off this possibility, I just cooked. A lot. I just kept cooking. I made veggie dip and veggies. I made hummus. I bought meats and cheeses and rolls to make sandwiches. Someone (I think it was my father) grilled some hot dogs. I cut up fruits for a fruit tray and cheese for a cheese tray. I made salsa. We grilled packets of potatoes and onions. I cooked squash and cauliflower and garlic and cherry tomatoes from the garden. I sauteed mushrooms and onions. Eventually I realized that we had way, WAY too much food.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

She had birthday cake–I made a real layer cake, which always makes me feel like a really domestic baker:
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

There were, in fact, other people at this party.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

The next day we all had to relax and wind down, so we went to the park.

Dad swung.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Mary swung. With crazy hair.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I just realized that I personally sewed the green and yellow dress near the top of these pics, the pink dress she wore at the party, and the shirt she’s wearing at the park in the swinging picture. Something odd has happened to my life.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2007 at 3:36 am

    Where’s my birthday cake picture? HUH?

    Oh, and I see you are using the serving thingy I gave you from Pier One. Which is great, cuz I loved it, but it would never have been used in my house, and would just have gotten broken.

    What IS up with Mary’s hair? And it’s weird you call her M. Some people I know call me M…She’s destined to be awesome like me.

    ~Lis

    Reply

  2. your life now is much less odd than the days of working until 7 am and eating a diet consisting solely of loaf and mashed up cake!

    signed,
    girl who really can’t talk since she sometimes finds herself posting messages on her friends blogs at 12:30 in the morning on a work night

    Reply

  3. Posted by GreenePiece on September 10, 2007 at 12:18 pm

    Ewww…loaf.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

