what we did last week

I’ve been recovering from five days traveling with Mary, so it’s taken a while for me to get the energy to do a blog about our trip. We flew to Michigan on Thursday and spent the weekend with my parents for Cherie and Jenny’s shower; we flew home on Tuesday. Mary has been asleep ever since. Here’s the rundown.

On Thursday, we got up obscenely early to go to the airport (Mary was not pleased). Conor dropped us off at Dulles and we checked in. I gave Mary some applesauce and she smiled at everyone and charmed all of our fellow travelers:

When we arrived in Kalamazoo, my mom picked us up and we went to my grandmother’s house to visit. Then we went home and Mary and I had a nap (finally). We hung out with Grandma and Grandpa, who had bought Mary new and exciting toys:

On Friday we went to a fabric/craft store with my mom, aunt Cherie, and Jenny. I bought some fabric, which I then proceeded to sew like mad all weekend. Mom, Mary, and I did shopping for the shower–we went to Meijer’s, which is always a highlight.

On Friday night, Melissa came home and Mary got to see her aunt:

We went outside to visit the animals. Mary sat on the lawnmower.

We visited Jake.

Mary hung out with Cherie and Jenny.

My dad did everything in his power to make Mary laugh the whole time.

On Saturday, we went to the quilt store with Grandma Swarthout. Then we came home and went out again with Mom and Melissa, to Kohl’s, to Target, to Gordon’s, to the bakery to pick up the cake. Mary shopped like a professional. Then we went to aunt Sally and uncle Jim’s new house for dinner…whereupon we discovered that Mary has teeth!

She has two little tooth nubbins on the bottom. She refuses to let anyone look at them, but I could feel them and finally I got a glimpse.

Sunday was the shower; it was well-attended and a good time was had by all. Mary was delighted because there was another baby who was about 3 weeks younger than she is. This is Mary stealing Jaylin’s pacifier:

This is Jenny’s disgustingly cute little pregnant belly.

Cherie and Jenny opened their presents. Mary helped them out with the ribbon.

This is what we gave them…
The quilt:

The t-shirt:

…and the baby legwarmers:

On Monday, we went out and visited the animals again. Here we are with some cows.

And here is Dad scratching the back of the Best Cow in the World–Etta. I’m upset with her, though, because she had her calf on Tuesday, mere hours after we went home. As though she couldn’t have speeded things up a little so we could see it!

I played with Mary a lot and she seemed to enjoy it.

Now, for the pictures of the sewing–I also made a skirt and a dress for Mary but I seem not to have photographed them. Here’s the result of a weekend with Mom’s (nicer) sewing machine:

Pants for Mary (I made an identical, only smaller–and therefore cuter–pair for Cherie and Jenny’s baby):

Apron for a swap–I love this and plan to make a lot of them in the future. Hello, 1967!

On Tuesday we left to go home. Mary was exhausted. Here she is, out cold on the floor at the Cincinnati airport:

And here–joyous!–is Mary, happily reunited with Daddy.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by liz on May 30, 2007 at 4:42 am

    heather, if you told me 5 years ago that in 2007 you were going to be flying home to climax with your child to hang out w/ jake and attend a lesbian baby shower, i just would not have believed it.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Suz on May 30, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    I can’t believe Jake AND Etta are still going strong!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

