I don’t get it

Conor and I just watched “Napoleon Dynamite”–I don’t see what all the fuss was about. It has funny parts, I’ll grant that…but if I want to spend an hour and a half watching nerds do nothing, I’ll go to my house.

We also watched “Memento” the other night. What a shapeless, self-indulgent mess that is. I hate the way they sell out the whole premise. Plus–if you’ve seen it, and you understand this, let me know–how does this guy understand and realize that he has a memory condition (all the time) if he can’t make new memories? At least by his description, his whole life is impossible. Anyway, the point is, there’s nothing to the movie outside of the gimmick, and that irritates me. (I like the actor who plays the hotel desk clerk, though.) All of this comes not long after we watched “Domino,” which suffers from the same problems and is even worse. Tiresome.

It’s odd to think that the thing we’ve watched recently that I’ve liked the most is the “Dr. Who” TV series (the first season of the new one). Somehow I never knew much about “Dr. Who,” but I didn’t think I’d like it. Actually I loved it. I’m still a little skeptical about season 2, since the Doctor isn’t played by Christopher Eccleston anymore, and I loved him. I thought he was the funniest thing ever.

So, although our movie was not a hit, we had a nice evening. Since our weekend is already booked up, Conor took me out to dinner for Mother’s Day (a whole new holiday! yes!). We went to a Thai restaurant in Waldorf (who knew there even was a Thai restaurant in Waldorf?). It’s no Ruan Thai, but it’s pretty good. Definitely a viable closer option. Then I got my Mother’s Day present (early–I’m not sure why, but I’ll take it). I’m now the proud owner of a Criterion Collection DVD of “The Fallen Idol.” Hurray! It’s a great movie.

This afternoon, Mary picked up one of her toys–a sort of heavy wooden spindle that holds wooden stacking rings–and then dropped it, right on her face. Poor baby. She has a little bruise there now. Very sad. I’m not sure you’d notice it particularly if you weren’t looking for it, but I kept expecting people in public to call Child Protective Services.

My garden tiller, which I bought last week but had to order, finally arrived. Prepare for photographs when I put it into service over the weekend. I’m excited that I have a real yard to plant things in! I think Conor’s excited too because the more I plant, the less lawn there will be to mow.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Suz on May 14, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    I remember really liking Momento when I watched it in the quiet swelter of my summer dorm at MSU. You’re making me question everything I believe to be true…from 6 years ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

