guinea pig

So, today Mary and I will be going to the NIH laboratory for her to be tested. I’m curious about what kinds of tests they’ll do. I think they’re mostly assessing her development, but I’m not sure how. I’ll let you know if it’s interesting.

Last night’s trip to Rockville for social interaction was a success. I achieved all three of my goals:
1.) Talking about something other than breastfeeding or my dissertation;
2.) Eating foods that are bad for me;
3.) Having a margarita.

Mary was handed around the table a bit and flirted with a lot; she considers the night a success too. Then we came home and fed her some parsnips (she leads an exciting life).

Last night I dreamed that Conor and I got married (far out, no?) and that I realized after the ceremony and halfway through the reception that I’d forgotten that I was supposed to wear my wedding dress. (I was wearing, I believe, yoga pants or something–what I always wear.) I was really annoyed because the dress was so expensive and I’d never have another opportunity to wear it, so I went to put it on, but every time I tried to leave the reception hall to change, someone got in the way and tried to converse with me. I had conversations with everyone from MSU.

If I’m psychic and these conversations reflect reality:
* Liz bought a dog–a puggle. (This is a cross between a pug and a beagle; I suspect that this cropped up because I heard a show on NPR about designer dogs.)
* Bob has decided to become a dermatologist.
* Teresa is now living with Ellen.
* Amanda the RA, who was always the least effectual RA in the world, is running for the Senate and married to blue-haired Tom.
* Kristin and Holahan were asleep and forgot to come to the ceremony, but they woke up in time for the reception.
* And I have some vague memory that I also dreamed that I talked to Bryan and Andy but that they were intoxicated and I don’t remember what they said. Sorry.
* My cousin Luke was also there in my dream and he was hitting on Amanda the RA. (I think he’s eleven. Maybe twelve.)

Anyway, I usually spare people the recitations of my dreams, but I wanted to see if any of these conversations represent reality…I’m hoping that Bob really is going to become a dermatologist, just because that would be bizarre.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lis on February 8, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    So here’s the thing….Luke…not so much a preteen anymore. I think we’re looking at 15? Somewhere in that neighborhood anyway. Caleb is like, 11 or 12, and if you’ve seen his myspace page, needs someone to smack him around a bit.

    Reply

  2. Posted by GreenePiece on February 8, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    But I thought Emily was 15?

    And I have seen Caleb’s (scandalous) myspace page.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Liz on February 9, 2007 at 4:34 am

    hahahahaha! i am not getting a dog, but i do want a dog. but i’ve wanted a dog for a while and not gotten one so i don’t really see it happening any time soon.

    re: holahan, he’s getting married, did i tell you that?

    andy most likely is intoxicated at any given moment.

    bryan is stuck on a boat right now and is almost certainly not intoxicated.

    k most likely is asleep at any given moment.

    ellen lives in MI now and runs a camp for disabled kids.

    teresa is pregnant (i know i told you that one!)

    amanda the RA and blue hair tom, i have no idea!

    Reply

  4. Posted by GreenePiece on February 9, 2007 at 6:57 am

  5. Posted by Liz on February 9, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    hahahahaha, it is cute! but these crazy super breeded dogs kind of freak me out. if i do get a dog i want to adopt a rescued greyhound.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Bob on February 10, 2007 at 1:09 am

    There’s no way I’m becoming a dermatologist. Do you have any idea how much more schooling that would be? I’ve had quite enough time in school, thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

