objectification

This morning, a researcher from the NIH came to our house to study Mary and me for a mother-child interaction study. Theoretically, she was just going to tape us for an hour doing whatever we always do; in practice, Mary was fascinated by the video camera and stared at her for at least half of it. But it cracks me up that somewhere in the files of the NIH there is now a video of me feeding Mary acorn squash and changing her diaper. Whatever. Next week we go to the lab to give Mary some tests (things like offering her two toys to see which one she likes, etc.). It’s interesting to see how the study works. Mary received a red stuffed bear as a token of the NIH’s appreciation; I’m not sure she likes it.

I was observing today that Mary is enormous. She’s grown a lot. I don’t always notice it because I see her every day, but she went from this:

…to this:

Trippy.

Leave a Reply

