one more thing

I’m reading a Dennis Lehane novel right now–yesterday I read his book “A Drink Before the War,” and now I’m reading “Darkness, Take My Hand” (so his titling skills seem to have deteriorated). Anyway, I’m really enjoying them, this one more so than the first one. They’re just mysteries, nothing particularly literary, and there’s a bit more daddy angst than I like, but they’re really suspenseful in a way that most mysteries just aren’t. I think part of the reason is that Lehane doesn’t seem to mind killing off characters, and not just the ones you expect (i.e. the children and mentally retarded, a la Dean Koontz, master of all that is terrible in fiction).

Lehane–who wrote “Mystic River”–writes about Boston, and I find that interesting too. I was under the impression that detective stories were required to be set in LA or New York, but Lehane seems to have been awarded an exemption.

And I don’t JUST like it because the epigraph is from “The Power and the Glory.”

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Liz on January 30, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    what is daddy angst?

    also, my grandma forced me to read a dean koontz book once (“you’ll love it! it’s the best book i’ve ever read! it’s nothing like his other books!”) and it made me want to kill myself.

    Reply

  2. Posted by GreenePiece on January 30, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Daddy angst=”I fell asleep and I dreamed of my father, coming up the stairs with his belt in his hand and liquor on his ragged breath…”, etc., etc, etc. You know, like an Everclear song.

    I know. Dean Koontz is possibly the worst writer ever. And I’ve read a lot, so I know. His books made my neck itch.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Liz on January 31, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    OHHHHHHH angst re: the person’s dad. i thought you meant angst as in “i love my kid so much, but he doesn’t love me, and i’m such a good dad, but nobody realizes” or something like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

