too much work

Although everybody talks about how hard it is to take care of a newborn baby (and I agree–I’m not a fan of sleeping only in stretches of an hour and a half), this is the real test: I’m sick and I still have to take care of the baby. I just have a cold or something, but I’m headachy and pathetic. I want to crawl into bed and stay there all day. If I were working at a job that actually required me to leave the house, I would call in sick.

But Mary doesn’t even care! She still wants to be fed and changed and even entertained (which is just beyond the realm of possible). What’s more, she has a cold, too, so she’s very high-maintenance, which isn’t really her normal personality. All babies are gross, but babies with colds are REALLY gross. She’s basically just a vessel for all manner of disgusting secretions. I wish she’d learn to blow her nose. And make me tea.

Earlier today, while feeling sorry for myself and trying to think of diversions that would not require me to actually get up and do anything, I experimented with expanding my nascent knitting skills. I only knew how to do the knit stitch. So I went to knittinghelp.com (which I love, by the way) and learned how to purl. Mary loves it. She thinks knitting is hilarious. (Of course, she thinks her own hand is hilarious, too, so she’s unreliable.)

The exciting thing about this? Once you learn to purl, you can knit a couple of rows, then purl a couple of rows, then knit a couple more, and so on…and pretty soon, your item (in my case, I’m not sure what it is–either a dishcloth or a scarf depending on my attention span) is ribbed. Ribbed! It looks like I’m a genius.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Liz on January 24, 2007 at 3:27 am

    unrelated, but whenever i open this blog i think i get confused about the name of it b/c i start hearing greensleeves played over and over in my head… hmmm…

    p.s. feel better!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Liz on January 24, 2007 at 3:29 am

    wait a minute, it just occurred to me that i have no idea what greensleeves sounds like and so now i have no idea what this song in my head is that plays every time i read your blog. i think it is some kind of a christmas song.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Liz on January 24, 2007 at 3:32 am

    is greensleeves a christmas song? someone help me… i am tempted to delete these messages to preserve some illusion of sanity…

    Reply

  4. Posted by GreenePiece on January 24, 2007 at 6:47 am

    “Greensleeves” is not a Christmas song. It is a traditional song, I believe. However, the Christmas song “What Child Is This?” is set to the tune of “Greensleeves.”
    –Heather, your handy music reference guide

    p.s. It’s a joke! About my dissertation! You know, Greene as in Graham…

    I’m a nerd.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Liz on January 24, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    maybe i am not nuts after all! also, i guessed the graham greene part, but what about piece? is that re: quilting?

    Reply

  6. Posted by GreenePiece on January 24, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    Hadn’t thought about it–I just thought I was writing a piece about Greene. But the quilting thing is the sort of lame-ass clever pun that always goes into blogs, so maybe I’ll claim it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

